Aga Khan Award for Architecture announces Steering Committee for 2025 Award

Learn more

2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Highlights

Learn more

Inclusive: The six winning projects of the 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture embody an inclusive, pluralistic outlook

Learn more

In conversation with Farrokh Derakhshani

Learn more

Winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2020-2022 Cycle

Winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2020-2022 Cycle

Learn more

Winners of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Learn more
languageSwitcherThis page is also available in

AKDN | Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The Award was designed, from the start, not only to honour exceptional achievement, but also to pose fundamental questions. How, for example, could Islamic architecture embrace more fully the values of cultural continuity, while also addressing the needs and aspirations of rapidly changing societies? How could we mirror more responsively the diversity of human experience and the differences in local environments? How could we honour inherited traditions while also engaging with new social perplexities and new technological possibilities?

His Highness the Aga Khan
The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2013 Ceremony, Lisbon, September 2013

Dr Hassan Fathy receives the Chairman's Award from His Highness and Hasan-Uddin Khan in 1980


The Award is governed by a steering committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan. A new committee is constituted each cycle to establish the eligibility criteria for project submissions, provide thematic direction in response to emerging priorities and issues, and to develop plans for the future of the Award. The steering committee is responsible for the selection and appointment of the master jury for each Award cycle, and for the Award's programme of international seminars, lectures, exhibitions and publications. The current prize fund totals $1,000,000 and is presented to projects selected by an independent master jury. The Award has completed 15 cycles of activity since 1977, and documentation has been compiled on over 9,000 building projects throughout the world. To date, the master juries have selected 128 projects to receive the Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

The Aga Khan Development Network

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is part of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, which has a wide range of activities aimed at the preservation and promotion of the material and spiritual heritage of Muslim societies. As the cultural agency of the Aga Khan Development Network, the Trust leverages cultural heritage as a means of supporting and catalysing development.

2023-2025 Cycle

Previous Cycles

2022 Introductory Video

Connect to
Aga khan Award for Architecture